NCC was instituted in Andhra Pradesh in May 1949 when it was a part of the erstwhile composite Madras State. In 1955, on re-organisation of the State, the existing NCC units were placed under an independent NCC Circle HQ for the new State of Andhra Pradesh (designated as HQ 12 Circle Cadet Corps). The NCC Circle Headquarters was re-designated as Directorate in 1962 with an Air Commodore as its Director. The Director’s post was re-designated as Deputy Director General in Aug 1985.

During the Republic Day Celebrations in 2008, the NCC cadets of the Andhra Pradesh Contingent won the Best Directorate Award and the prestigious Prime Minister’s Banner. This milestone had earlier been achieved in 1966 and  2009.  This was replicated in 2021.

On 02 Jun 2014, the State of Andhra Pradesh was bifurcated into two States i.e., Andhra Pradesh and Telangana.  A case was taken up with Directorate General NCC to re-designate NCC Directorate Andhra Pradesh to NCC Directorate Andhra Pradesh and Telangana (NCC Directorate AP&T).  Directorate General NCC accorded sanction on 25 Mar 2015 and NCC Directorate (AP) was re-christened as NCC Directorate (AP&T).  Hyderabad, Secunderabad, Nizamabad and Warangal Groups and the units under their jurisdiction are bracketed under Telangana while Guntur, Kakinada, Kurnool, Tirupati and Visakhapatnam and the units under their jurisdiction fall within Andhra Pradesh. Accordingly, the units under Telangana were also renamed as Telangana Battalions.

Air Cmde P Maheshwar VM
Additional Director General

Air Commodore Pemmaraju Maheshwar, Vayu Sena Medal (Gallantry), was commissioned in Indian Air Force on 19 Dec 1987.

He is a Helicopter Pilot and has flown 4500 hrs on a variety of aircraft. As an active unit pilot he has served mostly in Western and Northern Sectors of the country. After converting on to Attack Helicopters he was one of the pioneer Directing Staff to serve in the prestigious “Tactics and Air Combat Establishment” of Indian Air Force – the Indian equivalent of “Top Gun School”. His other staff appointments include Deputy Technical Manager with MoD Acquisition Wing Directing Staff at College of Air Warfare and Director Operations (Media & Public Relations) at Air HQ. Prior to his present assignment he was Air Commodore Plans in Air HQ. His other command assignments include command of a Cheetah unit assigned with task in Valley, Attack Helicopter unit assigned to peace keeping task in Democratic Republic of Congo. He also commanded an Air Defence Direction Centre with Area of Responsibility of the Southern Indian Peninsula and commanded a premier flying base in East.

He is an Alumni of Indian Institute of Public Administration after undergoing the prestigious “Advanced Professional Programme in Public Administration” where he earned an M Phil in Social Sciences and a Diploma in “Public Administration”. He is also a graduate from Defence Service Staff College and College of Air Warfare. He holds an  additional M Phil and MSc degree in Military Studies. He was commended by AOC-in-C while he served in a unit which was responsible for Air Maintenance in Siachen Glacier. He is a recipient of Vayu Sena Medal (Gallantry) for his actions while he was Chief Operations Officer at Car Nicobar Air Base during Tsunami in 2004.

NCC Groups

02 Feb


27 Nov


No Records Found.

22 Sep

Cadets Enrollment's

Enrollment is open for all cadets. Cadets are requested to approach respective School authorities fo...

Schedule of Training

View full Schedule


Newspaper clippings from Capital Information

Newspaper clippings from Deccan Chronicle

Newspaper clippings from The Hans India


Back to Top